The Bourbon Gallery, is an underground cavity that extends under the hill of Pizzofalcone, near the Royal Palace.
In 1853 Ferdinand II of Bourbon commissioned a long underground tunnel that connected the Largo della Reggia (today’s Piazza Plebiscito) to Piazza della Vittoria, passing below the hill of Pizzofalcone. The end of the work was military in nature: the tunnel was to be a quick escape to the sea for the royal family and a quick connection to the palace for the soldiers in the barracks of Chiaia. The tunnel was inaugurated by the King on 25 May 1855, but the excavation was never completed without allowing it to reach Piazza Carolina.
The route, in the following century, was abandoned, until during the Second World War some underground environments were used and set up as an air-raid shelter by the Military Engineers. The site was opened to the public by the Cultural Association “Borbonica Sotterranea” on October 29, 2010. The environments submerged by meters and meters of debris of various kinds have returned to the original state, becoming a major tourist attraction.